🔌 EV Partnership Switch to Octopus Energy & unlock exclusive smart EV charging rates Find out more → Skip to main content Skip to project content
FOLLOW PROJECT PROGRESS

Updates with a source.

Read source headlines and the newest profile reviews. Feed items are pointers to evidence; project facts change only after review.

Subscribe by RSS

Source feeds

Last successful feed refresh: 2026-10-08T23:00:19+00:00. Headlines may be older than their fetch date.

Project profiles reviewed on 8 October 2026

Transmission links

Eastern Green Link 2 (Peterhead–Drax)

EGL2 links Peterhead and Drax through a 505 km HVDC route. Construction is underway following the 2024 approvals. Its converters connect the subsea DC system to the AC transmission networks at each end. It transfers electricity between regions; its rating is not additional generating capacity.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Transmission links

Eastern Green Link 1 (Torness–Hawthorn Pit)

Onshore construction was announced in February 2025. EGL1 connects the Torness area to Hawthorn Pit over a predominantly subsea route of more than 190 km. It is distinct from EGL2 and does not terminate at Drax.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Transmission links

Eastern Green Link 3 (Peterhead–West Norfolk)

Major converter and cable contracts were announced in March 2026. Planning and consultation continue. EGL3 and EGL4 share proposed English landfall and cable corridors, with separate converter stations in the Walpole area. Contract awards are not evidence that the complete link is already under construction.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Transmission links

Eastern Green Link 4 (Fife–West Norfolk)

Supply-chain agreements were announced in March 2026. Main construction is expected in 2028 subject to consent, with completion scheduled for 2033. The proposed English converter is in West Norfolk; older descriptions of a Lincolnshire endpoint can confuse the cable landfall with the grid connection.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Transmission links

Eastern Green Link 5

Second-stage consultation took place from May to July 2026. EGL5 is a further Scotland–England subsea connection proposal, separate from EGL3 and EGL4. The proposed Lincolnshire connection relates to the LCS-B substation within the Grimsby to Walpole scheme.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Transmission links

Spittal–Peterhead HVDC Link

Cable construction is underway. The approximately 203 km link includes a 166 km subsea section between Sinclair’s Bay and Rattray Head. It connects the Banniskirk and Netherton hubs and supports movement of northern Scottish generation toward demand centres.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Transmission links

Western Isles HVDC Link

Mainland cable preparation and associated early works are underway in 2026. The link is designed to connect Lewis to the mainland and unlock island renewable generation. This 1.8 GW scheme supersedes the earlier 600 MW proposal. Work packages are at different stages.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Transmission links

Orkney–Caithness Transmission Link

Underground cable installation began in September 2026. The scheme includes Finstown substation, a 14 km land cable to Warebeth and a 53 km subsea cable to Dounreay. It creates Orkney’s first connection to the mainland transmission network.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Transmission links

Shetland HVDC Link

The Shetland connection was energised in 2024. Its 260 km subsea link integrates with the Caithness–Moray system. It connects island renewable generation, including the Viking wind farm, while providing a connection for island electricity supply.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Transmission links

Caithness–Moray HVDC Link

The completed HVDC link transfers northern Scottish renewable electricity through the Moray Firth. Its 1.2 GW rating is the link’s transfer capability, rather than energy generated by the cable. It is part of the network into which the Shetland connection integrates.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Grid upgrades

Yorkshire GREEN

Preparation began in autumn 2024 and main construction in early 2025. Yorkshire GREEN reinforces overhead lines and substations in North Yorkshire. It complements regional grid investment but is a separate project from the Peterhead–Drax cable.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Transmission links

Sea Link (Suffolk–Kent)

A 138 km primarily offshore link is awaiting its development-consent decision, expected by 30 October 2026. Surveys and archaeological works have separate permissions. These preparatory activities do not establish consent for the main link, whose construction programme is conditional on approval.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Interconnectors

NeuConnect (Great Britain–Germany)

Converter fit-out was reported in September 2026. NeuConnect is the first direct electricity connection between Great Britain and Germany, with approximately 725 km of land and subsea cables. It supports imports or exports according to system conditions.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Interconnectors

Greenlink (Wales–Ireland)

Greenlink links the Irish and British electricity markets through subsea and underground cable. The developer’s FAQ records operation from February 2025. Its nominal 500 MW capacity is bidirectional transfer capability, not a constant flow.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Interconnectors

Celtic Interconnector (Ireland–France)

Irish onshore cable installation and testing were reported complete in May 2026. Celtic connects Ireland directly to France. It is included as a neighbouring-market project relevant to all-island electricity trading; it is not a Great Britain grid connection.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Interconnectors

Viking Link

Viking Link is an operating international electricity connection. Power can move between markets rather than being generated by the cable. Availability, outages and market schedules determine the usable transfer on a particular day.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Interconnectors

IFA2

IFA2 is an operating international electricity connection. Power can move between markets rather than being generated by the cable. Availability, outages and market schedules determine the usable transfer on a particular day.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Interconnectors

North Sea Link

North Sea Link is an operating international electricity connection. Power can move between markets rather than being generated by the cable. Availability, outages and market schedules determine the usable transfer on a particular day.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Interconnectors

IFA

IFA is an operating international electricity connection. Power can move between markets rather than being generated by the cable. Availability, outages and market schedules determine the usable transfer on a particular day.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Interconnectors

BritNed

BritNed is an operating international electricity connection. Power can move between markets rather than being generated by the cable. Availability, outages and market schedules determine the usable transfer on a particular day.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Interconnectors

Nemo Link

Nemo Link is an operating international electricity connection. Power can move between markets rather than being generated by the cable. Availability, outages and market schedules determine the usable transfer on a particular day.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Interconnectors

LionLink Offshore Hybrid Asset

LionLink combines a connection to Dutch offshore wind with electricity exchange between Britain and the Netherlands. Current connection documents distinguish up to 2 GW export from 1.8 GW import. It remains a proposed project, not an operational source of supply.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Interconnectors

Nautilus Interconnector

National Grid is refining plans for a new British–Belgian subsea electricity connection. The earlier Suffolk connection agreement was removed; that should not be reported as the cancellation of all Nautilus development. Current route and converter options require further confirmation.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Data centres

Drax AI Data Centre Proposal

Drax describes a first phase below 100 MW using a former coal-generation grid connection. This is a proposed electricity consumer at the power-station site, distinct from both Drax generation and the EGL2 converter. Later direct-generation options remain proposals.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Data centres

Cato Data Centre, Auchtertool

The project architect describes a proposed 600 MW data centre near Auchtertool. ILI identifies Cato as part of its three-site Stoics network. Planning progress and connection rights do not establish an operating load.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Data centres

Aurelius Data Centre Proposal

Aurelius is one of ILI’s proposed Stoics sites. ILI reports land rights, grid arrangements and entry into the planning process across the network. Site-specific IT load and annual use remain unverified here.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Data centres

Rufus Data Centre Proposal

Rufus forms the western part of ILI’s Stoics network. It is a proposed project. The reviewed developer overview does not supply site-specific metered use, IT capacity or a named renewable supply contract.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Data centres

Larbert Data Centre Campus

A full planning application has been accepted by Falkirk Council. The developer targets initial operation in 2028 and describes a link to its consented BESS site to the north. The proposal remains subject to planning approval.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Data centres

Ravenscraig Data Centre Campus

Proposals reuse part of the former steelworks site. Current consultation material pairs the 550 MW data campus with a 150 MW BESS. Earlier material referred to a larger battery concept, so the two versions should not be combined into one specification.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Data centres

Wester Hermiston Data Centre Campus

Apatura’s consultation describes a 200 MW campus on land at Wester Hermiston. This is a development proposal. No current metered electricity use or operating renewable supply is reported for this project.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Data centres

Westerhill Data Centre Campus

The developer proposes a 300 MW campus within the Westerhill Regeneration Area. Consultation and planning work are distinct from construction and operation. Published campus capacity is not a measurement of present electricity demand.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Data centres

Freeport West Lothian Data Centre Campus

The developer’s September 2026 statement identifies a 250 MW proposed West Lothian campus. Consultation material also describes onsite battery storage. No independently verified battery energy capacity or annual electricity consumption is available in this profile.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Data centres

DataVita Fortis Data Centre

Fortis is DataVita’s operating Scottish data-centre facility. The operator also markets future AI facilities and private-wire energy parks. Those development concepts are separate from the operating site and must not be counted as existing electricity demand.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Data centres

Lanarkshire AI Growth Zone / DataVita Development

DataVita markets research, enterprise and hyperscale facilities within a wider development programme. This record covers the programme rather than treating advertised facility scales as an operating campus total. Individual energised loads require separate evidence.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Data centres

QTS Cambois Data Centre Campus

QTS’s former power-station site is being prepared for a ten-building campus. The 720 MW figure describes its full planned capacity, not current draw. Delivery and occupation are phased.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Data centres

South Mimms Data Centre Site (formerly DC01UK)

The South Mimms development site was sold to Equinix in October 2025. The earlier developer reported planning approval and a 400 MVA power reservation. Apparent power in MVA is not equivalent to MW without a power factor, and a reservation is not metered demand.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Data centres

Nscale Loughton AI Campus

Nscale announced 50 MW of AI capacity, with a potential 90 MW power allocation. Its 2027 delivery target is a developer target and depends on grid availability. Announced compute capacity does not establish a live operating campus.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Data centres

Google Waltham Cross Data Centre

Google announced the opening of Waltham Cross in September 2025. The centre is part of Google’s UK digital infrastructure. Google’s corporate renewable-energy purchases do not disclose the site’s measured electricity draw.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Data centres

Vantage CWL1 Newport Campus

The operator markets its CWL1 campus at Newport with 148 MW of capacity. This is a campus specification, not a published average electricity load. Additional AI deployments and phased expansion should be tracked separately from current consumption.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Data centres

VIRTUS Stockley Park Campus

VIRTUS publishes 112.5 MW of IT capacity for Stockley Park. Cooling and other facility services require electricity in addition to IT load. Actual occupation and annual metered consumption are not disclosed by this capacity figure.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Data centres

Green Mountain LON-East

LON-East is Green Mountain’s Romford campus. A September 2026 announcement describes a new 14 MW customer agreement. A customer contract should not be counted as the total campus capacity or as current average draw.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Data centres

Telehouse London Docklands Campus

Telehouse operates an established Docklands campus with a private 132 kV substation. The cited overview describes 50 MVA for that substation. This apparent-power figure must not be relabelled as IT capacity or as average consumption.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Data centres

Equinix MA5 Manchester

MA5 is Equinix’s Manchester colocation facility. Public operating information identifies the site; a verified site-wide MW capacity and annual metered consumption have not been established here.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Data centres

Yondr London Campus, Slough

The second building’s initial service phase was announced in April 2025. The wider 100 MW campus is delivered in phases. Initial service dates and ultimate campus capacity do not establish that every building is fully commissioned or drawing its rated load.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Data centres

CyrusOne LON6, Iver Heath

CyrusOne’s current LON6 site specification gives 108 MW of IT capacity, replacing the 90 MW figure in earlier announcements. Initial capacity is targeted for 2028. Current metered demand and completed construction are not established by the announced rating.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Data centres

NTT London 1, Dagenham

NTT describes 32 MW of critical IT load in the first building and 64 MW when fully built out. The larger value is an ultimate development figure. It does not show present occupation, site-wide draw or annual consumption.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Data centres

NTT Hemel Hempstead 4

The operator publishes 12 MW of critical IT load and a 60 MVA onsite substation. The redundant supply system supports resilience; its summed ratings must not be treated as a continuous electricity requirement.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Transmission links

Western HVDC Link

The operating Western Link connects Hunterston to Flintshire Bridge. Its route is approximately 420 km, including 385 km subsea. It carries electricity between Scotland and Wales and is a separate asset from the proposed Western Link 2.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Transmission links

Western Link 2

Western Link 2 is a proposed predominantly subsea connection from Ayrshire to the Gwynedd coast. A new converter would connect to Pentir substation. Public consultation took place in 2026. The project is separate from the operating Western Link.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Grid upgrades

Netherton Hub / Longside substations and HVDC converters

Main hub construction is underway near Longside, west of Peterhead. The development comprises 400 kV and 132 kV substations, separate Spittal–Peterhead and EGL3 HVDC converter stations, a transmission hall identified for EGL5, and an operations and spares base. Shared site earthworks do not mean that every converter or cable is already operational.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Grid upgrades

Beauly–Peterhead 400 kV Overhead Line

SSEN submitted its overhead-line consent application in October 2025. The proposal strengthens the inland transmission route to Peterhead. A submitted application is distinct from consent or main construction.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Grid upgrades

Spittal–Loch Buidhe–Beauly 400 kV Connection

The proposed 400 kV route is undergoing the consent process. The government’s appeal and inquiry record identifies inquiry, hearing and written procedures in 2026. This is not reported here as a consented or operating line.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Grid upgrades

Kintore–Tealing 400 kV Connection

The overhead-line application was submitted in September 2025 and is in the consent process. Government case material records an inquiry. The proposed reinforcement should be distinguished from separate substation work packages and existing network assets.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Solar farms

Halfway Energy Park, Carse of Gowrie

Aukera proposes up to 500 MW of solar generation and up to 100 MW of co-located battery storage between Inchture, Errol and Rait. The project is at consultation and pre-application stage, not an operating farm. It supplements the July register with a later proposal.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Nuclear projects

Hinkley Point C

Hinkley Point C is under construction. EDF’s February 2026 update organises the programme around Unit 1 becoming operational in 2030. That target is not a commissioning guarantee; the station is not yet supplying its full rated output.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Nuclear projects

Sizewell C

Sizewell C is under construction following its Development Consent Order and 2025 final investment decision. Its twin-reactor development has a planned 3.2 GW rating. Construction activity does not mean the station is generating electricity.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Thermal & carbon capture

Net Zero Teesside Power

Construction is underway on this gas-fired combined-cycle plant with integrated carbon capture. The developer targets start-up in 2028 and up to 742 MW output. Captured CO₂ would use Northern Endurance Partnership transport and storage. It is a fossil-fuel project with carbon capture, not renewable generation.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Data centres

Telehouse West Two, Docklands

Telehouse broke ground in October 2025 on West Two, targeting completion in 2028. The announcement specifies 33 MW overall building capacity and two new 132 kV substations serving the wider campus. This development is separate from the existing Docklands facilities and their historical connection ratings.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Grid upgrades

EGL2 Peterhead / Boddam HVDC Converter Station

The Scottish terminal of the 2 GW, 525 kV Peterhead–Drax link is under construction near Boddam. It converts between AC and DC and connects to the Peterhead AC network. Hitachi Energy supplies converter technology with BAM delivering civil works. It is separate from the existing gas-fired Peterhead power station.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Grid upgrades

EGL2 Wren Hall / Drax HVDC Converter Station

Wren Hall is the English converter terminal of the 2 GW Peterhead–Drax link, adjacent to the Drax transmission connection. It converts electricity between the subsea DC system and the AC grid. The converter is separate from Drax’s generating units and proposed data centre.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Grid upgrades

EGL2 Sandford Bay / Peterhead Cable Landfall

EGL2’s Scottish landfall connects its subsea cable to the onshore route serving the Boddam converter. Horizontal directional drilling and cable landing are separate construction packages from the converter buildings. Prysmian is the EGL2 cable supplier; the NKT works at Rattray Head belong to a different link.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Grid upgrades

Spittal–Peterhead Rattray Head / Crimond NKT Cable Landfall

The Rattray Head landfall north of Peterhead serves the 2 GW Spittal–Peterhead cable, connecting onward to Netherton near Longside. NKT is the cable contractor; Nicol of Skene carries out local works. SSEN confirmed 1.7 km landfall HDD drilling underway in July 2026. This is distinct from EGL2’s Sandford Bay landfall.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Grid upgrades

Netherton / Longside Spittal–Peterhead HVDC Converter

This converter is planned within Netherton Hub near Longside as the southern terminal of the 2 GW, 525 kV Spittal–Peterhead link. The cable comes ashore near Crimond at Rattray Head. Hub civil works are underway; this record does not imply the converter is installed or energised.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Grid upgrades

Netherton / Longside EGL3 HVDC Converter

A separate converter at Netherton Hub is proposed for the 2 GW EGL3 link to West Norfolk. It is distinct from the Spittal–Peterhead converter on the same hub site and from EGL2’s converter at Boddam. The hub has entered civil construction, while EGL3’s marine licence and detailed delivery stages remain separate.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Grid upgrades

Netherton / Longside 400 kV and 132 kV AC Substations

The two AC substations at Netherton Hub support generation and storage connections and onward transmission. They form a different infrastructure package from the site’s HVDC converters. Shared site civil works are underway; detailed electrical approvals and energisation follow separately.

Reviewed 2026-10-08
Grid upgrades

Peterhead / Boddam 275 kV Substation Transformer Upgrade

SSEN reports first-phase construction underway in July 2026, including platform earthworks, drainage and a SuDS pond. Balfour Beatty is carrying out the works. Construction is expected to finish by 2028, with commissioning and energisation by 2030. This is separate from the EGL2 HVDC converter and existing power station.

Reviewed 2026-10-08