Data centres consume electricity. IT load, grid MW, connection MVA and measured consumption are recorded separately. This is a sourced selection of 25 campuses and proposals, not a complete UK census. No private site telemetry is implied.
Data centresIn planningNot published
Not verified
North Lanarkshire Β· Scotland
ILI Group
Aurelius is one of ILIβs proposed Stoics sites. ILI reports land rights, grid arrangements and entry into the planning process across the network. Site-specific IT load and annual use remain unverified here.
Data centresIn planning600 MW
Proposed campus capacity
Fife Β· Scotland
ILI Group
The project architect describes a proposed 600 MW data centre near Auchtertool. ILI identifies Cato as part of its three-site Stoics network. Planning progress and connection rights do not establish an operating load.
Data centresIn planning108 MW
Current published IT capacity
Buckinghamshire Β· England
CyrusOne
CyrusOneβs current LON6 site specification gives 108 MW of IT capacity, replacing the 90 MW figure in earlier announcements. Initial capacity is targeted for 2028. Current metered demand and completed construction are not established by the announced rating.
Data centresOperatingNot published
Not verified
North Lanarkshire Β· Scotland
DataVita
Fortis is DataVitaβs operating Scottish data-centre facility. The operator also markets future AI facilities and private-wire energy parks. Those development concepts are separate from the operating site and must not be counted as existing electricity demand.
Data centresIn planning100 MW
Phase-one upper bound
North Yorkshire Β· England
Drax
Drax describes a first phase below 100 MW using a former coal-generation grid connection. This is a proposed electricity consumer at the power-station site, distinct from both Drax generation and the EGL2 converter. Later direct-generation options remain proposals.
Data centresOperatingNot published
Not verified
Greater Manchester Β· England
Equinix
MA5 is Equinixβs Manchester colocation facility. Public operating information identifies the site; a verified site-wide MW capacity and annual metered consumption have not been established here.
Data centresIn planning250 MW
Proposed campus capacity
West Lothian Β· Scotland
Apatura
The developerβs September 2026 statement identifies a 250 MW proposed West Lothian campus. Consultation material also describes onsite battery storage. No independently verified battery energy capacity or annual electricity consumption is available in this profile.
Data centresOperatingNot published
Not disclosed
Hertfordshire Β· England
Google
Google announced the opening of Waltham Cross in September 2025. The centre is part of Googleβs UK digital infrastructure. Googleβs corporate renewable-energy purchases do not disclose the siteβs measured electricity draw.
Data centresOperatingNot published
Phased capacity
Greater London Β· England
Green Mountain
LON-East is Green Mountainβs Romford campus. A September 2026 announcement describes a new 14 MW customer agreement. A customer contract should not be counted as the total campus capacity or as current average draw.
Data centresIn planningNot published
Multi-site programme
North Lanarkshire Β· Scotland
DataVita / HFD Group
DataVita markets research, enterprise and hyperscale facilities within a wider development programme. This record covers the programme rather than treating advertised facility scales as an operating campus total. Individual energised loads require separate evidence.
Data centresIn planning300 MW
Proposed campus capacity
Falkirk Β· Scotland
Apatura
A full planning application has been accepted by Falkirk Council. The developer targets initial operation in 2028 and describes a link to its consented BESS site to the north. The proposal remains subject to planning approval.
Data centresIn planning50 MW
IT capacity
Essex Β· England
Nscale
Nscale announced 50 MW of AI capacity, with a potential 90 MW power allocation. Its 2027 delivery target is a developer target and depends on grid availability. Announced compute capacity does not establish a live operating campus.
Data centresOperating12 MW
IT capacity
Hertfordshire Β· England
NTT
The operator publishes 12 MW of critical IT load and a 60 MVA onsite substation. The redundant supply system supports resilience; its summed ratings must not be treated as a continuous electricity requirement.
Data centresOperating64 MW
Ultimate IT capacity
Greater London Β· England
NTT
NTT describes 32 MW of critical IT load in the first building and 64 MW when fully built out. The larger value is an ultimate development figure. It does not show present occupation, site-wide draw or annual consumption.
Data centresEnabling works720 MW
Planned campus capacity
Northumberland Β· England
QTS
QTSβs former power-station site is being prepared for a ten-building campus. The 720 MW figure describes its full planned capacity, not current draw. Delivery and occupation are phased.
Data centresIn planning550 MW
Grid connection capacity
North Lanarkshire Β· Scotland
Apatura
Proposals reuse part of the former steelworks site. Current consultation material pairs the 550 MW data campus with a 150 MW BESS. Earlier material referred to a larger battery concept, so the two versions should not be combined into one specification.
Data centresIn planningNot published
Not verified
East Ayrshire Β· Scotland
ILI Group
Rufus forms the western part of ILIβs Stoics network. It is a proposed project. The reviewed developer overview does not supply site-specific metered use, IT capacity or a named renewable supply contract.
Data centresConsentedNot published
400 MVA reservation
Hertfordshire Β· England
Equinix
The South Mimms development site was sold to Equinix in October 2025. The earlier developer reported planning approval and a 400 MVA power reservation. Apparent power in MVA is not equivalent to MW without a power factor, and a reservation is not metered demand.
Data centresOperatingNot published
Campus connection
Greater London Β· England
Telehouse
Telehouse operates an established Docklands campus with a private 132 kV substation. The cited overview describes 50 MVA for that substation. This apparent-power figure must not be relabelled as IT capacity or as average consumption.
Data centresUnder construction33 MW
Published building capacity
Greater London Β· England
Telehouse / KDDI
Telehouse broke ground in October 2025 on West Two, targeting completion in 2028. The announcement specifies 33 MW overall building capacity and two new 132 kV substations serving the wider campus. This development is separate from the existing Docklands facilities and their historical connection ratings.
Data centresOperating148 MW
Published IT capacity
Newport Β· Wales
Vantage Data Centers
The operator markets its CWL1 campus at Newport with 148 MW of capacity. This is a campus specification, not a published average electricity load. Additional AI deployments and phased expansion should be tracked separately from current consumption.
Data centresOperating112.5 MW
IT capacity
Greater London Β· England
VIRTUS
VIRTUS publishes 112.5 MW of IT capacity for Stockley Park. Cooling and other facility services require electricity in addition to IT load. Actual occupation and annual metered consumption are not disclosed by this capacity figure.
Data centresIn planning200 MW
Proposed campus capacity
Edinburgh Β· Scotland
Apatura
Apaturaβs consultation describes a 200 MW campus on land at Wester Hermiston. This is a development proposal. No current metered electricity use or operating renewable supply is reported for this project.
Data centresIn planning300 MW
Proposed campus capacity
East Dunbartonshire Β· Scotland
Apatura
The developer proposes a 300 MW campus within the Westerhill Regeneration Area. Consultation and planning work are distinct from construction and operation. Published campus capacity is not a measurement of present electricity demand.
Data centresOperating100 MW
Planned campus capacity
Berkshire Β· England
Yondr
The second buildingβs initial service phase was announced in April 2025. The wider 100 MW campus is delivered in phases. Initial service dates and ultimate campus capacity do not establish that every building is fully commissioned or drawing its rated load.